The Commonwealth of Massachusetts is the most populous state in the New England region of the northeastern United States.  It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the east, the states of Connecticut and Rhode Island to the south, New Hampshire and Vermont to the north, and New York to the west.  The state is named for the Massachusett tribe, which once inhabited the area.  The capital of Massachusetts and the most populous city in New England is Boston.

Cities, Towns, and Counties

Barnstable County

Berkshire County


Bristol County

Dukes County

Essex County

Franklin County

Ashfield, Bernardston, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Conway, Deerfield, Erving, Gill, Hawley, Heath, Leverett, Leyden, Monroe, Montague, New Salem, Northfield, Orange, Rowe, Shelburne, Shutesbury, Sunderland, Warwick, Wendell, Whately

Hampden County

Hampshire County

Middlesex County

Nantucket County

Norfolk County

Plymouth County

Suffolk County


Worcester County

Athol, Worcester